top of page
  • Writer's picture FECSGV Youth

Stories: Adam S: My 1st Piano Competition

Updated: Feb 23, 2020

I was 10 years old at the time and after 2 weeks of practice, my piano competition had arrived. I had to play “The Little Negro” by Claude Debussy. I arrived at the Arcadia community center and was nervous, however, if I wanted my work to pay off, I couldn’t have let my anxiety take over me. I walked in the community center and a receptionist for the competition handed me a program. I looked over it and immediately noticed I was the first competitor in my division. I first was nervous but then I remembered what that could cost you. So, I kept my adrenaline low. After the first division finished, it was my turn. Lucky for me it was a 10-minute break, so I could practice on their piano. I noticed that the piano I was going to play on was more difficult to play on than the one on which I practiced on. Now I was getting extremely concerned. I had not expected that there would be so many dilemmas. All of a sudden, I remembered what God had said in the Bible that there is always hope and even if you feel like no one is there. And the only key was to believe. Then I remembered a verse, Jeremiah 29:11, “For I know the plans I have for you. Plans to prosper you and not to harm you plans to give you hope and a future.” After reciting that in my mind, I felt a lot better. When the judges were ready I took a deep breath and took the stage. I presented my speech and sheet music and sat down to play. I remembered all of what my piano teacher and especially what God said. I performed my piece just like how I practiced it. And when I finally hit the lasts note without any mistakes, I knew God helped me through what I just did. Even though I played through the piece well, I still didn’t think I would win. Before I even knew it, it was time for the awards ceremony. I sat down and listened. I wasn’t expecting to win anything considering the major competition I had of practice spans. Once my division came, I wasn’t very attentive as I had little hope of winning. Then at one moment, I heard Adam Shen. I couldn’t believe it! I’d actually won second place. And at a point in time, I was so happy that God actually made my hard work pay off. I prayed a lot those 2 weeks, and finally, it came. All that work paid off but I could never forget to thank my piano teacher and particularly God. I was in shock. And from that day on, I knew God would always be there. Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you- Deuteronomy 31:6 And thanks to our great God, this event will go into the books.


-Adam Shen



 

Hi! Thanks for reading Adam's story! If you would like to share a story please go to https://fecsgv.wixsite.com/youth/our-community-share-a-story.


If you have any questions please press the message button on the bottom right corner, email to fecsgv.cia@gmail.com, or go to https://fecsgv.wixsite.com/youth/contact-us.


A Comment?

Comment Below and we will try to respond as soon as possible


Thanks!

-FECSGV Youth Multimedia Team


58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page